About Bill Lambert

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Bill Lambert has created 167 blog entries.

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (11/13/21 – 11/19/21)

2021-11-19T13:58:58+00:00

Here is our weekly TL;DR blog post for the container news you might have missed this last week. In this week’s TL;DR post: GitOps and the Cheap Cloud Myth https://thenewstack.io/repatriation-or-cloud-what-we-need-is-control/ An Introduction to Python for Non-Programmers https://thenewstack.io/an-introduction-to-python-for-non-programmers/ ROI of Docker Desktop vs. DIY: Considerations, Risks, and Benefits for Business https://www.docker.com/blog/roi-of-docker-desktop-vs-diy-considerations-risks-and-benefits-for-business/ IBM Makes Container Registry Available [...]

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (11/13/21 – 11/19/21) 2021-11-19T13:58:58+00:00

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (11/6/21 – 11/12/21)

2021-11-12T14:25:48+00:00

Here is our weekly TL;DR blog post for the container news you might have missed this last week. In this week’s TL;DR post: OWASP Top 10: A Guide to the Worst Software Vulnerabilities https://thenewstack.io/owasp-top-10-a-guide-to-the-worst-software-vulnerabilities/ Docker Desktop 4.2 Release: Save Your Battery with Pause / Resume, and Say Goodbye to the Update Pop-up https://www.docker.com/blog/docker-desktop-4-2-release-save-your-battery-with-pause-resume-and-say-goodbye-to-the-update-pop-up/ Install a [...]

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (11/6/21 – 11/12/21) 2021-11-12T14:25:48+00:00

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (10/30/21 – 11/5/21)

2021-11-05T15:29:01+00:00

Here is our weekly TL;DR blog post for the container news you might have missed this last week. In this week’s TL;DR post: Continuous Previews (CP): Don’t Merge Until You Preview https://www.docker.com/blog/continuous-previews-cp-dont-merge-until-you-preview/ Use Chaos Engineering to Strengthen Your Incident Response https://thenewstack.io/use-chaos-engineering-to-strengthen-your-incident-response/ Will Edge Computing Devour the Cloud? https://www.eweek.com/cloud/will-edge-computing-devour-the-cloud/ Why Portability is Key to Better Productivity [...]

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (10/30/21 – 11/5/21) 2021-11-05T15:29:01+00:00

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (10/16/21 – 10/22/21)

2021-10-22T13:17:17+00:00

Here is our weekly TL;DR blog post for the container news you might have missed this last week. In this week’s TL;DR post: DoKC Report Sees Stateful App Surge on Kubernetes https://containerjournal.com/features/dokc-report-sees-stateful-app-surge-on-kubernetes/ ThoughtSpot’s Ajeet Singh: “The Data Analytics Dashboard is Dead” https://www.eweek.com/big-data-and-analytics/thoughtspots-ajeet-singh-data-analytics-dashboard-is-dead/ This Week in Programming: Rancher’s Docker Desktop Replacement https://thenewstack.io/this-week-in-programming-ranchers-docker-desktop-replacement/ Use KPNG to Write [...]

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (10/16/21 – 10/22/21) 2021-10-22T13:17:17+00:00

Open Source Security Foundation Raises $10 Million in New Commitments to Secure Software Supply Chains

2021-10-21T15:28:31+00:00

From https://openssf.org/press-release/2021/10/13/open-source-security-foundation-raises-10-million-in-new-commitments-to-secure-software-supply-chains/ Industry leaders from technology, financial services, telecom, and cybersecurity sectors respond to Biden’s Executive Order, commit to a more secure future for software; open source luminary Brian Behlendorf becomes general manager LOS ANGELES, Calif – KubeCon – October 13, 2021 – The Linux Foundation, the nonprofit organization enabling mass innovation through open source, [...]

Open Source Security Foundation Raises $10 Million in New Commitments to Secure Software Supply Chains 2021-10-21T15:28:31+00:00

Devgistics’ Tianon Gravi appointed as new Harbor maintainer

2021-10-19T11:13:17+00:00

The Harbor project has a team of core maintainers who are responsible for providing technical oversight for the Harbor project, including final review and merging of patches into the Harbor code base. As the Harbor project continues to grow, the core maintainer team also needs to grow by adding contributors who are already demonstrating technical [...]

Devgistics’ Tianon Gravi appointed as new Harbor maintainer 2021-10-19T11:13:17+00:00

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (10/9/21 – 10/15/21)

2021-10-15T12:47:39+00:00

Here is our weekly TL;DR blog post for the container news you might have missed this last week. In this week’s TL;DR post: Tuning K8s Performance and Cost With NGINX Ingress Metrics https://containerjournal.com/features/tuning-k8s-performance-and-cost-with-nginx-ingress-metrics/ What Workloads Do Businesses Run on Kubernetes? https://thenewstack.io/what-workloads-do-businesses-run-on-kubernetes/ Docker, Inc. Sees Increased Pulls from Docker Hub https://containerjournal.com/features/docker-inc-sees-increased-pulls-from-docker-hub/ SUSE Expands Open Source Kubernetes [...]

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (10/9/21 – 10/15/21) 2021-10-15T12:47:39+00:00

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (10/2/21 – 10/8/21)

2021-10-08T12:46:15+00:00

Here is our weekly TL;DR blog post for the container news you might have missed this last week. In this week’s TL;DR post: This Week in Programming: Hacktoberfest Goes Opt-In Only https://thenewstack.io/this-week-in-programming-hacktoberfest-goes-opt-in-only/ 4 Expert-Level Things I Wish I’d Known About Kubernetes https://containerjournal.com/features/4-expert-level-things-i-wish-id-known-about-kubernetes/ The Cloud Cost Dilemma: Scale vs. Return on Investment https://thenewstack.io/the-cloud-cost-dilemma-scale-vs-return-on-investment/ Provision Bare-Metal Kubernetes [...]

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (10/2/21 – 10/8/21) 2021-10-08T12:46:15+00:00

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (9/25/21 – 10/1/21)

2021-10-01T13:01:27+00:00

Here is our weekly TL;DR blog post for the container news you might have missed this last week. In this week’s TL;DR post: Banks Must Innovate or Die — Could GitOps Be the Lifeline? https://thenewstack.io/banks-must-innovate-or-die-could-gitops-be-the-lifeline/ Generate a Software Bill of Materials for a Container Image with Syft https://thenewstack.io/generate-a-software-bill-of-materials-for-a-container-image-with-syft/ What to Expect at KubeCon+CloudNativeCon https://thenewstack.io/what-to-expect-at-kubeconcloudnativecon/ Open [...]

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (9/25/21 – 10/1/21) 2021-10-01T13:01:27+00:00

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (9/18/21 – 9/24/21)

2021-09-24T14:40:06+00:00

Here is our weekly TL;DR blog post for the container news you might have missed this last week. In this week’s TL;DR post: Find Vulnerabilities in Container Images with Docker Scan https://thenewstack.io/find-vulnerabilities-in-container-images-with-docker-scan/ 6 Kubernetes Best Practices to Empower Devs to Troubleshoot https://thenewstack.io/6-kubernetes-best-practices-to-empower-devs-to-troubleshoot/ 3 Reasons to Embrace Edge Computing https://www.informationweek.com/cloud/three-reasons-to-embrace-edge-computing Canonical Extends Support for Older Ubuntu [...]

TL;DR – Last Week’s Container News (9/18/21 – 9/24/21) 2021-09-24T14:40:06+00:00